LC Paper No. CB(4)630/13-14(04) (English version only)



2014-2015

Honorary Chairmen : Dr Nim-kwan CHEUNG Dr Roy CHUNG, BBS, JP Mr Allen MA Mrs Agnes MAK, MH,JP Mr M. Y. WONG, BBS, JP

Honorary Advisors : Dr W. C. KEUNG Mr Joseph POON Mr Kenneth SO Ir Allen YEUNG

OFFICE BEARERS & COMMITTEES :

Chairman Ir Victor NG

Deputy Chairman Mr William YIM

Vice-Chairmen Mr Victor CHOI Mr Henry KAN Mr Myron KWAN Mr Lawrence LI Ir Dr Aaron TONG Mr Nelson YIP, MH

Honorary Secretary Dr Teresa LAW

Honorary Treasurer Ms Miranda LEE

Committee Members Ir Daniel CHAN Mr Eric CHAN Mr Andrew IP Dr Alan LAM Mr Derek LEE Mr Matthew MAN Dr Martin TSAI Mr Joe WONG Mr Gary YU Hong Kong Electronics & Technologies Association

香港電子科技商會

Secretariat: 11/F, Lockhart Centre, 301 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong 秘書處:香港灣仔駱克道 301 號駱克中心 1 1 樓 T: +852 5498 7817 F: +852 3547 8017 E: admin@hketa.org.hk www.hketa.org.hk

May 2, 2014

Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting The Legislative Council of the HKSAR

Dear Sirs,

Re : Support Establishment of Innovation and Technology Bureau

Innovation and technology are the keys to sustainable and diversified economic development, and are essential in enhancing Hong Kong's competitiveness as a knowledge-based economy, as well as improving people's livelihood and benefiting our society as whole. Establishing the new Bureau will not only help promote local research & development, but will also bring about more career opportunities to our next generation.

Setting up the Innovation and Technology Bureau is a golden opportunity to strengthen Hong Kong's competitive edge. We believe we should grasp the opportunity and therefore, we strongly support the establishment of Innovation and Technology Bureau and urge LegCo members to discard their intention to filibuster, allowing the Government's proposal to pass.

Very truly yours,

Ir Victor Ng Chairman Hong Kong Electronics & Technologies Association

CC: Mr. Gary Yu Chairman ICT Subcom / HKETA