LC Paper No. CB(3) 297/02-03

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

MINUTES

No. 14

Minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 9 January 2003 at 3:00 pm

Present:

The Hon TUNG Chee-hwa, JP
The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Members present:

President

The Hon Mrs Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai, GBS, JP

The Hon Kenneth TING Woo-shou, JP

The Hon James TIEN Pei-chun, GBS, JP

Dr the Hon David CHU Yu-lin, JP

The Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan

The Hon Albert HO Chun-yan

Ir Dr the Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, JP

The Hon LEE Cheuk-yan

The Hon Martin LEE Chu-ming, SC, JP

The Hon Eric LI Ka-cheung, JP

Dr the Hon David LI Kwok-po, GBS, JP

The Hon Fred LI Wah-ming, JP

Dr the Hon LUI Ming-wah, JP

The Hon NG Leung-sing, JP

The Hon Margaret NG

The Hon Mrs Selina CHOW LIANG Shuk-yee, GBS, JP

The Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong

The Hon HUI Cheung-ching, JP

The Hon CHAN Kwok-keung

The Hon CHAN Yuen-han, JP

The Hon Bernard CHAN, JP

The Hon CHAN Kam-lam, JP

The Hon Mrs Sophie LEUNG LAU Yau-fun, SBS, JP

The Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

The Hon SIN Chung-kai

The Hon Andrew WONG Wang-fat, JP

Dr the Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong

The Hon WONG Yung-kan

The Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, GBS, JP

The Hon Howard YOUNG, JP

Dr the Hon YEUNG Sum

The Hon YEUNG Yiu-chung, BBS

The Hon LAU Chin-shek, JP

The Hon LAU Kong-wah

The Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBS, JP

The Hon Miriam LAU Kin-yee, JP

The Hon Ambrose LAU Hon-chuen, GBS, JP

The Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP

The Hon CHOY So-yuk

The Hon Andrew CHENG Kar-foo

The Hon SZETO Wah

The Hon Timothy FOK Tsun-ting, SBS, JP

Dr the Hon LAW Chi-kwong, JP

The Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP

Dr the Hon TANG Siu-tong, JP

The Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, JP

The Hon LI Fung-ying, JP

The Hon Henry WU King-cheong, BBS, JP

The Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, JP

The Hon Michael MAK Kwok-fung

The Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip

The Hon LEUNG Fu-wah, MH, JP

Dr the Hon LO Wing-lok

The Hon WONG Sing-chi

The Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee

The Hon IP Kwok-him, JP

The Hon LAU Ping-cheung

The Hon Audrey EU Yuet-mee, SC, JP

The Hon MA Fung-kwok, JP

Member absent:

The Hon James TO Kun-sun

Public officers attending:

The Hon Donald TSANG Yam-kuen, GBM, JP The Chief Secretary for Administration

The Hon Antony LEUNG Kam-chung, GBS, JP The Financial Secretary

The Hon Elsie LEUNG Oi-sie, GBM, JP The Secretary for Justice

The Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, GBS, JP Secretary for Commerce, Industry and Technology

The Hon Michael SUEN Ming-yeung, GBS, JP Secretary for Housing, Planning and Lands

Prof the Hon Arthur LI Kwok-cheung, GBS, JP Secretary for Education and Manpower

Dr the Hon YEOH Eng-kiong, JP Secretary for Health, Welfare and Food

The Hon Joseph WONG Wing-ping, GBS, JP Secretary for the Civil Service

Dr the Hon Patrick HO Chi-ping, JP Secretary for Home Affairs

The Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Secretary for Security

The Hon Stephen IP Shu-kwan, GBS, JP Secretary for Economic Development and Labour

Dr the Hon Sarah LIAO Sau-tung, JP Secretary for the Environment, Transport and Works

The Hon Frederick MA Si-hang Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury

The Hon Stephen LAM Sui-lung, JP Secretary for Constitutional Affairs

Prof LAU Siu-kai, JP Head, Central Policy Unit

Clerk in attendance:

Mr Ricky FUNG Choi-cheung, JP, Secretary General

The Chief Executive's Question and Answer Session on the Policy Address

The Chief Executive addressed the Council about the major tasks and challenges of the government of the current term. Then he took questions from Members on matters relating to his policy address.

17 Members asked questions and the Chief Executive replied.

Next meeting

The President declared that the next meeting of the Council would be held on 15 January 2003 at 2:30 pm.

The Council was adjourned at 4:13 pm.

(Mrs Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai)
President

Council Chamber Hong Kong