LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

MINUTES

	No. 2	
Minutes of the meeting held on	n Thursday	15 October 2009 at 3:00 pm

Present:

The Hon Donald TSANG Yam-kuen, GBM
The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Members present:

President
The Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, GBS, JP

The Hon Albert HO Chun-yan

Ir Dr the Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, SBS, S.B.St.J., JP

The Hon LEE Cheuk-yan

Dr the Hon David LI Kwok-po, GBM, GBS, JP

The Hon Fred LI Wah-ming, SBS, JP

Dr the Hon Margaret NG

The Hon James TO Kun-sun

The Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong

The Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP

The Hon Mrs Sophie LEUNG LAU Yau-fun, GBS, JP

The Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Dr the Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong, GBS

The Hon WONG Yung-kan, SBS, JP

The Hon LAU Kong-wah, JP

The Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBM, GBS, JP

The Hon Miriam LAU Kin-yee, GBS, JP

The Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP

The Hon Andrew CHENG Kar-foo

The Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP

The Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, SBS, JP

The Hon LI Fung-ying, BBS, JP

The Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, SBS, JP

The Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip

The Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP

The Hon Audrey EU Yuet-mee, SC, JP

The Hon Vincent FANG Kang, SBS, JP

The Hon WONG Kwok-hing, MH

The Hon LEE Wing-tat

Dr the Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP

The Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, SBS, JP

The Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, SBS, JP

The Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC

The Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung

The Hon CHEUNG Hok-ming, GBS, JP

The Hon WONG Ting-kwong, BBS, JP

The Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC

The Hon CHIM Pui-chung

Prof the Hon Patrick LAU Sau-shing, SBS, JP

The Hon KAM Nai-wai, MH

The Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan

The Hon Starry LEE Wai-king

Dr the Hon LAM Tai-fai, BBS, JP

The Hon CHAN Hak-kan

The Hon Paul CHAN Mo-po, MH, JP

The Hon CHAN Kin-por, JP

The Hon Tanya CHAN

Dr the Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun

Dr the Hon LEUNG Ka-lau

The Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che

The Hon WONG Sing-chi

The Hon WONG Kwok-kin, BBS

The Hon WONG Yuk-man

The Hon IP Wai-ming, MH

The Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP

The Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Dr the Hon PAN Pey-chyou

The Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun

Dr the Hon Samson TAM Wai-ho, JP

Member absent:

The Hon Timothy FOK Tsun-ting, GBS, JP

Public officers attending:

The Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, GBM, GBS, JP The Chief Secretary for Administration

The Hon John TSANG Chun-wah, JP The Financial Secretary

The Hon WONG Yan-lung, SC, JP The Secretary for Justice

The Hon Michael SUEN Ming-yeung, GBS, JP Secretary for Education

The Hon Stephen LAM Sui-lung, GBS, JP Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs

The Hon Ambrose LEE Siu-kwong, GBS, IDSM, JP Secretary for Security

Dr the Hon York CHOW Yat-ngok, GBS, JP Secretary for Food and Health

The Hon Denise YUE Chung-yee, GBS, JP Secretary for the Civil Service

Ms Florence HUI Hiu-fai, JP Secretary for Home Affairs

The Hon Matthew CHEUNG Kin-chung, GBS, JP Secretary for Labour and Welfare

Prof the Hon K C CHAN, SBS, JP Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury

The Hon Mrs Carrie LAM CHENG Yuet-ngor, JP Secretary for Development

The Hon Edward YAU Tang-wah, JP Secretary for the Environment

The Hon Eva CHENG, JP Secretary for Transport and Housing

The Hon Mrs Rita LAU NG Wai-lan, JP Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development

Prof LAU Siu-kai, JP Head, Central Policy Unit

Clerk in attendance:

Ms Pauline NG Man-wah, Secretary General

The Chief Executive's Question and Answer Session

The Chief Executive addressed the Council.

While the Chief Executive was addressing the Council, Hon Albert CHAN sought elucidation from the Chief Executive on a remark made in his address. The President reminded Hon Albert CHAN that Members who would like to raise questions should wait until the Chief Executive had finished his address. Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung and Hon WONG Yuk-man also spoke aloud. The President ordered the three Members to stop interrupting the Chief Executive and reminded Members to observe the Rules of Procedure.

The Chief Executive continued to address the Council.

Three Members and Hon WONG Yuk-man asked questions and the Chief Executive replied.

While the Chief Executive was answering Hon WONG Yuk-man's question, Hon WONG Yuk-man, Hon Albert CHAN and Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung spoke aloud. The President ordered them to stop speaking.

The Chief Executive continued to reply.

Three more Members and Hon Tommy CHEUNG asked questions and the Chief Executive replied.

In the course of answering Hon Tommy CHEUNG's question, the Chief Executive raised with the President that he could not concentrate as some Members were speaking when he was making his reply. The President stated that should any Member offend the Rules of Procedure again, he would ask the Member to withdraw from the Chamber.

Hon IP Wai-ming asked his question and the Chief Executive replied.

While the Chief Executive was answering Hon IP Wai-ming's question, Hon WONG Yuk-man stood up and repeatedly spoke aloud. The President ordered him to sit down. As Hon WONG Yuk-man ignored the President's warning, the President ordered him to withdraw from the Chamber immediately. The Clerk and security staff assisted him in leaving the Chamber.

While the Chief Executive continued his reply to Hon IP Wai-ming's question, Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung stood up and walked towards the Chief Executive while holding a placard. The President ordered him to stop. As Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung ignored the President's warning, the President ordered him to withdraw from the Chamber immediately. The Clerk and security staff assisted him in leaving the Chamber.

While the Chief Executive continued his reply to Hon IP wai-ming's question again, Hon Albert CHAN stood up and spoke aloud to the Chief Executive. The President ordered him to sit down and stop speaking. As Hon Albert CHAN ignored the President's warning, the President ordered him to withdraw from the Chamber immediately.

Five other Members asked questions and the Chief Executive replied.

Next meeting

The President declared that the next meeting of the Council would be held on 21 October 2009 at 11:00 am.

The Council was adjourned at 4:35 pm.

(Jasper TSANG Yok-sing)
President
13 November 2009

Council Chamber Hong Kong