LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

MINUTES

No. 14

Minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 14 January 2010 at 3:00 pm

Present:

The Hon Donald TSANG Yam-kuen, GBM
The Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Members present:

President
The Hon Jasper TSANG Yok-sing, GBS, JP

The Hon Albert HO Chun-yan

Ir Dr the Hon Raymond HO Chung-tai, SBS, S.B.St.J., JP

The Hon LEE Cheuk-yan

The Hon Fred LI Wah-ming, SBS, JP

Dr the Hon Margaret NG

The Hon James TO Kun-sun

The Hon CHEUNG Man-kwong

The Hon CHAN Kam-lam, SBS, JP

The Hon Mrs Sophie LEUNG LAU Yau-fun, GBS, JP

The Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Dr the Hon Philip WONG Yu-hong, GBS

The Hon WONG Yung-kan, SBS, JP

The Hon LAU Kong-wah, JP

The Hon LAU Wong-fat, GBM, GBS, JP

The Hon Miriam LAU Kin-yee, GBS, JP

The Hon Emily LAU Wai-hing, JP

The Hon Andrew CHENG Kar-foo

The Hon Timothy FOK Tsun-ting, GBS, JP

The Hon TAM Yiu-chung, GBS, JP

The Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, SBS, JP

The Hon LI Fung-ying, BBS, JP

The Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, SBS, JP

The Hon Albert CHAN Wai-yip

The Hon Frederick FUNG Kin-kee, SBS, JP

The Hon Audrey EU Yuet-mee, SC, JP

The Hon Vincent FANG Kang, SBS, JP

The Hon WONG Kwok-hing, MH

The Hon LEE Wing-tat

Dr the Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP

The Hon Jeffrey LAM Kin-fung, SBS, JP

The Hon Andrew LEUNG Kwan-yuen, SBS, JP

The Hon Alan LEONG Kah-kit, SC

The Hon LEUNG Kwok-hung

The Hon CHEUNG Hok-ming, GBS, JP

The Hon WONG Ting-kwong, BBS, JP

The Hon Ronny TONG Ka-wah, SC

The Hon CHIM Pui-chung

Prof the Hon Patrick LAU Sau-shing, SBS, JP

The Hon KAM Nai-wai, MH

The Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan

The Hon Starry LEE Wai-king

Dr the Hon LAM Tai-fai, BBS, JP

The Hon CHAN Hak-kan

The Hon Paul CHAN Mo-po, MH, JP

The Hon CHAN Kin-por, JP

The Hon Tanya CHAN

Dr the Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun

Dr the Hon LEUNG Ka-lau

The Hon CHEUNG Kwok-che

The Hon WONG Sing-chi

The Hon WONG Kwok-kin, BBS

The Hon WONG Yuk-man

The Hon IP Wai-ming, MH

The Hon IP Kwok-him, GBS, JP

The Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Dr the Hon PAN Pey-chyou

The Hon Paul TSE Wai-chun

Dr the Hon Samson TAM Wai-ho, JP

Member absent:

Dr the Hon David LI Kwok-po, GBM, GBS, JP

Public officers attending:

The Hon Henry TANG Ying-yen, GBM, GBS, JP The Chief Secretary for Administration

The Hon John TSANG Chun-wah, JP The Financial Secretary

The Hon WONG Yan-lung, SC, JP The Secretary for Justice

The Hon Michael SUEN Ming-yeung, GBS, JP Secretary for Education

The Hon Ambrose LEE Siu-kwong, GBS, IDSM, JP Secretary for Security

Dr the Hon York CHOW Yat-ngok, GBS, JP Secretary for Food and Health

The Hon Denise YUE Chung-yee, GBS, JP Secretary for the Civil Service

The Hon TSANG Tak-sing, JP Secretary for Home Affairs

The Hon Matthew CHEUNG Kin-chung, GBS, JP Secretary for Labour and Welfare

Prof the Hon K C CHAN, SBS, JP Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury

The Hon Mrs Carrie LAM CHENG Yuet-ngor, JP Secretary for Development

The Hon Edward YAU Tang-wah, JP Secretary for the Environment

The Hon Eva CHENG, JP Secretary for Transport and Housing

The Hon Mrs Rita LAU NG Wai-lan, JP Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development

Prof LAU Siu-kai, JP Head, Central Policy Unit

Clerk in attendance:

Ms Pauline NG Man-wah, Secretary General

Obituary tribute

The Chief Executive attended the Council meeting.

The Council observed one minute's silence to mourn the victims of the earthquake which occurred in Haiti on 12 January 2010 (local time).

The Chief Executive's Question and Answer Session

The Chief Executive addressed the Council.

Fifteen Members asked questions and the Chief Executive replied.

Next meeting

The President declared that the next meeting of the Council would be held on 20 January 2010 at 11:00 am.

The Council was adjourned at 4:38 pm.

(Jasper TSANG Yok-sing)
President
10 February 2010

Council Chamber Hong Kong