

LC Paper No. CB(4)89/19-20 (These minutes have been cleared by the Chairman)

Ref : CB4/PL/PS

### **Panel on Public Service**

### Minutes of meeting held on Thursday, 17 October 2019, at 5:00 pm in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present	<ul> <li>Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP (Chairman) Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH (Deputy Chairman) Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP Hon WONG Kwok-kin, SBS, JP Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP Hon Christopher Cheung, SBS, MH, JP Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP Hon IP Kin-yuen Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP Hon HO Kai-ming Hon LAM Cheuk-ting Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Dr Hon Pierre CHAN Hen CHAN Chur wing JD</li> </ul>
	Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP

	Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, BBS, MH, JP Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho Hon Gary FAN Kwok-wai Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP Hon Tony TSE Wai-chuen, BBS Hon CHAN Hoi-yan
Members absent	: Hon Abraham SHEK Lai-him, GBS, JP Hon CHU Hoi-dick
Clerk in attendance	: Mr Anthony CHU Chief Council Secretary (4)1
Staff in attendance	: Mr Matthew LOO Assistant Secretary General 4
	Ms Mina CHAN Senior Council Secretary (4)7
	Ms Maggie CHUNG Council Secretary (4)1
	Miss Winnie CHENG Senior Legislative Assistant (4)1
	Ms Carmen HO Senior Legislative Assistant (4)2
	Miss Emma CHEUNG Senior Legislative Assistant (4)3
	Ms Prima LAI Legislative Assistant (4)1
	Mr Griffin FUNG Legislative Assistant (4)7
	Miss Vivian YUEN Legislative Assistant (4)8
	Mr Terry HON Clerical Assistant (4)1

- 3 -

#### Action I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman

Election of Chairman

<u>Mr Gary FAN</u>, the incumbent Chairman, invited nominations for the chairmanship.

2. <u>Ms Starry LEE</u> nominated Mr KWOK Wai-keung and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Christopher CHEUNG</u>, <u>Mr HO</u> <u>Kai-ming</u> and <u>Mr SHIU Ka-fai</u>. <u>Mr KWOK Wai-keung</u> accepted the nomination.

3. <u>Mr LAM Cheuk-ting</u> nominated Mr Jeremy TAM and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Charles Peter MOK</u>. <u>Mr Jeremy TAM</u> accepted the nomination.

4. <u>Mr IP Kin-yuen</u> nominated Mr Gary FAN and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Charles Peter MOK</u>. <u>Mr Gary FAN</u> accepted the nomination.

5. As the incumbent Chairman was nominated for the office, <u>Mr Martin LIAO</u>, the incumbent Deputy Chairman, took over from Mr Gary FAN to preside over the election.

6. <u>Mr Martin LIAO</u> called for other nominations. As there was no other nomination, <u>Mr LIAO</u> announced that voting be conducted by secret ballot. After all members had cast their votes, <u>Mr LIAO</u> invited Ms Starry LEE, Mr LAM Cheuk-ting and Mr IP Kin-yuen who had nominated the three candidates respectively to monitor the counting of votes.

7. <u>Mr Martin LIAO</u> announced that 27 members voted for Mr KWOK Wai-keung, one member voted for Mr Jeremy TAM and four members voted for Mr Gary FAN respectively. <u>Mr LIAO</u> declared that Mr KWOK Wai-keung was elected Chairman of the Panel for the 2019-2020 session. <u>Mr KWOK Wai-keung</u> then took the chair.

# Election of Deputy Chairman

8. <u>The Chairman</u> called for nominations for the deputy chairmanship of the Panel.

Action

9. <u>Mr HO Kai-ming</u> nominated Mr POON Siu-ping and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Steven HO</u>. <u>Mr POON Siu-ping</u> accepted the nomination.

10. <u>Mr Charles Peter MOK</u> nominated Mr Gary FAN and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Jeremy TAM</u>. <u>Mr Gary FAN</u> accepted the nomination.

11. <u>The Chairman</u> called for other nominations. As there was no other nomination, <u>the Chairman</u> announced that voting be conducted by secret ballot. After all members had cast their votes, <u>the Chairman</u> invited Mr HO Kai-ming and Mr Charles Peter MOK who had nominated the two candidates respectively to monitor the counting of votes.

12. <u>The Chairman</u> announced that 22 and four members voted for Mr POON Siu-ping and Mr Gary FAN respectively. <u>The Chairman</u> declared that Mr POON Siu-ping was elected Deputy Chairman of the Panel for the 2019-2020 session.

# II. Schedule of meetings for the 2019-2020 session

13. <u>Members</u> agreed that the monthly regular meetings of the Panel for the 2019-2020 session would be held on the third Monday of each month at 10:45 am.

14. Taking into account that the Finance Committee and other Panels might hold meetings on 21 October 2019 for election of their respective chairmen and deputy chairmen for the 2019-2020 session, <u>Mr Tommy CHEUNG</u> suggested postponing the Panel's first regular meeting originally scheduled for the same day to avoid clashing with these other meetings. <u>Ms Alice MAK</u> shared Mr CHEUNG's views.

15. <u>The Chairman proposed and members</u> agreed to reschedule the first regular meeting to early November 2019. <u>The Chairman instructed</u> the Secretariat to liaise with the Administration for alternative date for the first regular meeting and notify members of the arrangements in due course.

(*Post-meeting note*: with the concurrence of the Chairman, the first regular meeting was rescheduled for Monday, 4 November 2019, at 10:45 am. In addition to the briefing on the policy measures relating to the Civil Service Bureau featured in the 2019 Policy Address and Policy Address Supplement, the

Action

- 5 -

agenda item "Grade Structure Review for Veterinary Laboratory Technician and Medical Laboratory Technician Grades" would also be discussed at the meeting.)

- 16. <u>Members</u> also noted that:
  - (a) the regular meeting in June would be scheduled for Friday, 19 June 2020 at 8:45 am so that the Civil Service Bureau would have sufficient time to prepare the briefing on the civil service pay adjustment for 2020-2021; and
  - (b) due to the prorogation of the Sixth Legislative Council, the regular meeting in July would be scheduled for Friday, 10 July 2020 at 10:45 am.

(*Post-meeting note*: The meeting schedule was issued to members vide LC Paper No. CB(4)15/19-20 on 18 October 2019.)

17. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 5:31 pm.

Council Business Division 4 Legislative Council Secretariat 5 November 2019