## 立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(2)170/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB2/PL/WS

#### **Panel on Welfare Services**

## Minutes of meeting held on Friday, 16 October 2020, at 8:30 am in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present

: Hon KWONG Chun-yu (Chairman) Hon SHIU Ka-chun (Deputy Chairman)

Hon James TO Kun-sun

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS

Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP

Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Dr Hon Pierre CHAN

Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP

Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH

Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, BBS, MH, JP

Dr Hon CHENG Chung-tai Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Members absent : Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP

Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

**Members** attending

: Hon Mrs Regina IP LAU Suk-yee, GBS, JP

Hon SHIU Ka-fai, JP

Clerk in attendance

: Ms Wendy JAN

Chief Council Secretary (2) 4

Staff in attendance

: Miss Flora TAI

Assistant Secretary General 2

Ms Catherina YU

Senior Council Secretary (2) 4

Mr Roger CHUNG Council Secretary (2) 4

Miss Alison HUI

Legislative Assistant (2) 4

Miss Natalie WU

Clerical Assistant (2) 4

# I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman for the 2020-2021 session

[Appendices III and IV to LC Paper No. CB(2)10/20-21]

### Election of Chairman

Mr KWONG Chun-yu, the incumbent Chairman, presided over the election of Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session.

- 2. Mr James TO, Ms Claudia MO, Mr Kenneth LEUNG, Dr KWOK Ka-ki, Mr LAM Cheuk-ting, Mr HUI Chi-fung and Mr LUK Chung-hung enquired about the manner in which Mr KWONG Chun-yu would preside over the election of the Panel Chairman. Mr TO specifically asked whether members would be able to fully exercise their right to nominate candidates. Mr HUI stressed that the election of the Panel Chairman should be conducted in accordance with the Rules of Procedure ("RoP") and the usual practice of Panels. Ms MO and Mr Andrew WAN suggested that an election forum should be held in which candidates would be given time to present their election platforms and answer questions from members.
- 3. Mr LUK Chung-hung considered that the election of the Panel Chairman should be conducted expeditiously. Mr CHAN Han-pan expressed concern that it was unlikely that the election of the Panel Chairman would be completed at this meeting.
- 4. Mr KWONG Chun-yu advised members that he would preside over the election of the Panel Chairman in a timely and reasonable manner in accordance with RoP and the usual practice of Panels. He further said that he would take into consideration the number of candidates in working out the mode of the election forum. He then invited nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2020-2021 legislative session.
- 5. Dr CHIANG Lai-wan was nominated by Mr Holden CHOW and the nomination was seconded by Mr WONG Ting-kwong. Dr CHIANG accepted the nomination.
- 6. Mr SHIU Ka-chun was nominated by Mr Andrew WAN and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr SHIU accepted the nomination.
- 7. At 9:00 am, Mr KWONG Chun-yu announced that due to time constraint, he would close the meeting at this juncture and the election of

the Panel Chairman for the 2020-2021 session would be continued at the next meeting.

(*Post-meeting note*: With the concurrence of Mr KWONG Chun-yu, the incumbent Chairman of the Panel, a special meeting was scheduled to be held on 23 October 2020 from 10:45 am to 11:45 am to continue the election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman.)

8. The meeting ended at 9:01 am.

Council Business Division 2
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
5 November 2020