立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(2)204/20-21 (These minutes have been cleared with the Chairman)

Ref: CB2/PL/WS

Panel on Welfare Services

Minutes of special meeting held on Friday, 23 October 2020, at 10:45 am in Conference Room 1 of the Legislative Council Complex

Members present

: Hon KWONG Chun-yu (Chairman) Hon SHIU Ka-chun (Deputy Chairman)

Hon James TO Kun-sun Hon LEUNG Yiu-chung

Hon Tommy CHEUNG Yu-yan, GBS, JP Prof Hon Joseph LEE Kok-long, SBS, JP

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, GBS, JP Hon Starry LEE Wai-king, SBS, JP Hon CHAN Hak-kan, BBS, JP

Hon Claudia MO

Hon Steven HO Chun-yin, BBS

Hon Frankie YICK Chi-ming, SBS, JP

Hon WU Chi-wai, MH Hon YIU Si-wing, BBS Hon Charles Peter MOK, JP Hon CHAN Han-pan, BBS, JP

Hon LEUNG Che-cheung, SBS, MH, JP

Hon Kenneth LEUNG

Hon Alice MAK Mei-kuen, BBS, JP

Dr Hon KWOK Ka-ki

Hon KWOK Wai-keung, JP

Hon Christopher CHEUNG Wah-fung, SBS, JP

Dr Hon Fernando CHEUNG Chiu-hung

Dr Hon Helena WONG Pik-wan

Hon IP Kin-yuen

Hon Elizabeth QUAT, BBS, JP

Hon Martin LIAO Cheung-kong, GBS, JP

Hon POON Siu-ping, BBS, MH Dr Hon CHIANG Lai-wan, SBS, JP Hon Alvin YEUNG

Hon Andrew WAN Siu-kin

Hon LAM Cheuk-ting

Hon Wilson OR Chong-shing, MH

Hon YUNG Hoi-yan, JP Dr Hon Pierre CHAN

Hon CHAN Chun-ying, JP Hon CHEUNG Kwok-kwan, JP

Hon HUI Chi-fung

Hon LUK Chung-hung, JP Hon LAU Kwok-fan, MH Dr Hon CHENG Chung-tai Hon Jeremy TAM Man-ho

Hon Vincent CHENG Wing-shun, MH, JP

Members absent

: Hon Michael TIEN Puk-sun, BBS, JP Hon Dennis KWOK Wing-hang

Hon Holden CHOW Ho-ding

Hon Kenneth LAU Ip-keung, BBS, MH, JP

Member attending

: Dr Hon Junius HO Kwan-yiu, JP

Clerk in attendance

: Miss Lilian MOK

Chief Council Secretary (2) 4

Staff in attendance

: Miss Flora TAI

Assistant Secretary General 2

Ms Catherina YU

Senior Council Secretary (2) 4

Mr Roger CHUNG Council Secretary (2) 4

Miss Alison HUI

Legislative Assistant (2) 4

Miss Natalie WU

Clerical Assistant (2) 4

Action - 3 -

I. Election of Chairman and Deputy Chairman for the 2020-2021 session

[Appendices III and IV to LC Paper No. CB(2)10/20-21]

Election of Chairman

Nomination

Mr KWONG Chun-yu, the incumbent Chairman, presided over the election of the Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session. He informed members that at the meeting on 16 October 2020, <u>Dr CHIANG Lai-wan</u> and <u>Mr SHIU Ka-chun</u> were nominated for the office and the call for nominations for the chairmanship had not yet closed.

- 2. Mr KWONG Chun-yu invited further nominations for the chairmanship of the Panel. The following 10 members in the order in which they were nominated for the office had accepted the nomination and subsequently withdrawn their acceptance for nomination:
 - (a) Dr KWOK Ka-ki was nominated by Ms Claudia MO and the nomination was seconded by Mr Andrew WAN;
 - (b) Mr Andrew WAN was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Ms Claudia MO;
 - (c) Mr HUI Chi-fung was nominated by Mr LAM Cheuk-ting and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG;
 - (d) Ms Claudia MO was nominated by Mr Alvin YEUNG and the nomination was seconded by Mr Kenneth LEUNG;
 - (e) Mr Jeremy TAM was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Andrew WAN</u>;
 - (f) Mr WU Chi-wai was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Alvin YEUNG. Mr WU was absent, and Mr HUI confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Mr WU;
 - (g) Mr Kenneth LEUNG was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ms Claudia MO</u>;

Action - 4 -

- (h) Dr CHENG Chung-tai was nominated by Mr Kenneth LEUNG and the nomination was seconded by Mr LEUNG Yiu-chung;
- (i) Mr Charles Peter MOK was nominated by <u>Dr KWOK Ka-ki</u> and the nomination was seconded by <u>Mr Alvin YEUNG</u>; and
- (j) Mr James TO was nominated by Mr HUI Chi-fung and the nomination was seconded by Mr Andrew WAN. Mr TO was absent, and Mr HUI confirmed that the nomination was accepted by Mr TO.
- 3. There being no further nomination, <u>Mr KWONG Chun-yu</u> announced that the nomination procedure closed with two members validly nominated for the chairmanship of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session, who were Dr CHIANG Lai-wan and Mr SHIU Ka-chun.

Election forum for the election of Chairman

- 4. <u>Ms Claudia MO</u> and <u>Mr HUI Chi-fung</u> requested the holding of an election forum. Given the small number of candidates nominated for the chairmanship of the Panel, <u>Dr KWOK Ka-Ki</u> and <u>Mr Jeremy TAM</u> suggested that more time should be provided for the two candidates to present their election platforms and answer questions from members. <u>Mr Charles Peter MOK</u> further proposed that the candidates should not be allowed to put questions to each other. <u>Mr CHAN Han-pan</u>, however, considered it not necessary to hold a forum. He urged Mr KWONG Chun-yu to adhere to the time allotted to the election of chairman and deputy chairman as proposed in the agenda and speed up the election process.
- 5. Having regard to various views expressed by members, Mr KWONG Chun-yu said that after having made reference to the election forum procedures adopted by some Panels in the 2019-2020 session, each candidate would first be invited to elaborate their platforms for two minutes, after which one minute would be allocated for each member who would raise questions to the candidates. However, the two candidates should not put questions to each other. Each candidate would then have up to five minutes to make a collective response to the questions raised. After the question-and-answer session, each candidate would be given two minutes to make their concluding remarks.

Action - 5 -

6. Mr KWONG Chun-yu invited Dr CHIANG Lai-wan and Mr SHIU Ka-chun to present their election platforms and answer questions put by 10 members.

(At 11:44 am, Mr KWONG Chun-yu extended the meeting for 15 minutes beyond the appointed ending time of the meeting to allow the two candidates to make collective responses to the questions raised by members.)

7. Owing to time constraint, <u>Mr KWONG Chun-yu</u> suggested and <u>members</u> agreed that the election of the Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session would be continued at the next meeting to be scheduled.

(*Post-meeting note*: Members were informed vide LC Paper No. CB(2)98/20-21 issued on 28 October 2020 that a special meeting would be held on 3 November 2020 to continue the election of the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Panel for the 2020-2021 session.)

8. The meeting ended at 12:00 noon.

Council Business Division 2
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
9 November 2020